Hi I ammimi .AI !!
Common Admission Test (CAT) 2026
Conducted by Indian Institutes of Management (IIMs), through the CAT 2026 organising office
Source: iimcat.ac.in · Updated 26 Oct 2026
120 min
Duration
4
Sections
Rs 1,350 - 2,700
Application fee
Not announced yet
Nearest upcoming date
Tell Mimi your course and marks
| Category | Minimum marks | Age limit | Relaxation |
|---|---|---|---|
| General | 50% or equivalent CGPA in bachelor's degree | No age limit | None |
| 50% or equivalent CGPA in bachelor's degree | No age limit | Up to 10% seats reserved. certificate must be valid for 2026-27 and assessed for FY 2025-26. | |
| NC- | 50% or equivalent CGPA in bachelor's degree | No age limit | 27% seats reserved for Non-Creamy Layer. Certificate must be issued on or after 1 April 2026. |
| SC | 45% or equivalent CGPA in bachelor's degree | No age limit | 15% seats reserved; registration fee Rs 1,350 |
| ST | 45% or equivalent CGPA in bachelor's degree | No age limit | 7.5% seats reserved; registration fee Rs 1,350 |
| 45% or equivalent CGPA in bachelor's degree | No age limit | 5% seats reserved; registration fee Rs 1,350; extra time of 20 minutes per hour (40 minutes for the 2-hour test) |
| Application type | Fee |
|---|---|
| CAT 2026 | Rs 2,700 for General, and NC- candidates |
| SC, ST and candidates | Rs 1,350 |
CAT is a computer-based management aptitude test conducted by the IIMs, held once a year, mainly to evaluate and shortlist candidates for postgraduate management programmes. Each IIM then follows its own selection process, which may combine CAT performance with a Personal Interview, Writing Ability Test and/or Group Discussion. CAT 2026 is a 120-minute test with three sections, scheduled for 29 November 2026. Scores can also be used by member non-IIM institutions, but the IIMs have no role in those institutions' selection.
Source: CAT 2026 portal - About Us
| Item | Detail |
|---|---|
| Conducted by | Indian Institutes of Management (22 IIMs participate) |
| Mode | Computer-based test at test centres |
| Frequency | Once a year |
| Test day | 29 November 2026 (Sunday), three sessions |
| Duration | 120 minutes |
| Sections | VARC, DILR, QA |
| Slot allotment | Session, city and centre are allotted by CAT; candidates cannot choose the session |
| Test cities | Around 170 cities; candidates choose five preferences |
| Score validity | Till 31 December 2027 |
| Who can apply | Bachelor's degree holders (50% General/EWS/NC-OBC, 45% SC/ST/PwBD), final-year students, and CA/CS/ICWA (CMA)/FIAI holders with the required percentage |
Source: CAT 2026 Information Bulletin
The IIMs may change test centres, cities, test date or time. Always confirm the latest position on https://iimcat.ac.in.
| Event | Date | Status |
|---|---|---|
| CAT 2026 registration opens | 3 Aug 2026, 10:00 AM IST | Confirmed |
| CAT 2026 registration closes | 22 Sep 2026, 5:00 PM IST | Confirmed |
| Fee payment window | Till 24 Sep 2026, 5:00 PM IST | Confirmed |
| Application edit window (photograph, signature, test city preferences only) | 5 Oct 2026, 10:00 AM to 6 Oct 2026, 5:00 PM | Confirmed |
| download begins | 4 Nov 2026 | Confirmed |
| link available | 12 Nov 2026 | Tentative |
| CAT 2026 test day | 29 Nov 2026 (Sunday) | Confirmed |
| Answer key / response sheet window | TBA | TBA |
| CAT 2026 result | First week of January 2027 | Tentative |
| WAT / PI / GD (IIM selection stage) | TBA | TBA |
| CAT 2026 score validity ends | 31 Dec 2027 | Confirmed |
TBA means the exam body has not announced the date yet. Tentative dates can change. Check iimcat.ac.in for the latest.
Source: CAT 2026 Registration Guide
Source: CAT 2026 Information Bulletin
| Category | Fee (Rs) |
|---|---|
| General, EWS, NC-OBC and other candidates | 2,700 |
| SC, ST and PwBD candidates | 1,350 |
Source: CAT 2026 Information Bulletin
The fee is paid once regardless of how many IIMs you apply to and is not refundable. Registration closed on 22 Sep 2026 and the application edit window (photograph, signature, test cities) ran 5-6 Oct 2026; both have ended.
Source: CAT 2026 portal
Enter your CAT result to see which colleges you have a real chance at.
The official CAT 2026 portal lists no sample or previous-year question papers. The only official practice resource it mentions is the (link expected from 12 November 2026 on iimcat.ac.in).
The official CAT FAQ states that CAT does not have a defined syllabus. The IIMs publish only the section names below, so topic and sub-topic lists are not official.
| Order | Section |
|---|---|
| Section I | Verbal Ability and Reading Comprehension (VARC) |
| Section II | Data Interpretation and Logical Reasoning (DILR) |
| Section III | Quantitative Ability (QA) |
Number of questions per section and topic-wise question counts are not published in the documents available on the CAT portal, so they are not listed here.
| Parameter | Details |
|---|---|
| Mode | (CBT) at test centres, held in three sessions on one day |
| Duration | 120 minutes |
| Total questions | Not announced |
| Total marks | Not announced |
| : +3 correct, -1 wrong, 0 unattempted; Non-MCQ (typed answer): +3 correct, no | |
| Sections | Three sections, answered in a fixed order: VARC, DILR, QA |
Source: CAT 2026 portal - FAQs
| Question type | Correct answer | Wrong answer | Unattempted |
|---|---|---|---|
| MCQ | +3 | -1 | 0 |
| Non-MCQ (typed answer) | +3 | 0 | 0 |
Source: CAT 2026 portal - FAQs
Candidates may not bring a calculator to the test centre. An on-screen calculator is available throughout the exam.
Source: CAT 2026 portal - FAQs
Total number of questions, total marks and sectional time limits are not stated in the official documents available on the portal, so they are shown as Not announced.
The CAT FAQ says a practice test on iimcat.ac.in lets candidates familiarise themselves with navigation and question types, and that the CAT 2026 mock test link will be available from 12 November 2026.
Source: CAT 2026 portal - FAQs
| Phase | Timing | Focus |
|---|---|---|
| Revise | Until about 11 Nov | Revise weak areas in all three sections with timed sets. |
| Interface practice | From 12 Nov | Take the official mock and learn navigation, the timer and the on-screen calculator. |
| Full tests | 13-26 Nov | Take full 120-minute tests and review mistakes after each one. |
| Final days | 27-28 Nov | Light revision, check the admit card, ID, photograph and test-centre route. |
General preparation guidance by MakeMyEducation, not an official document.
Source: CAT 2026 portal - FAQs
Source: CAT 2026 portal - FAQs
Source: CAT 2026 portal - FAQs
Source: CAT 2026 portal - FAQs
Source: CAT 2026 portal - FAQs
A dress code and a full prohibited-items list were not found in the official documents available on the portal, so they are not included. Check your instructions.
Source: CAT 2026 Information Bulletin
Step-by-step scorecard download instructions, the official method and the slot score- document for CAT 2026 are not yet published on the portal, so they are not included. State-wise 99.99-percentile lists and toppers are intentionally left out because they are not official and involve personal data.
Each IIM is independent in setting its own eligibility criteria, including academic cut-offs and relative weights, and follows its own selection process. CAT performance is an important component. IIMs may also use previous academic performance, relevant work experience and similar inputs to shortlist candidates at various stages. The CAT About Us page names a Personal Interview, Writing Ability Test and/or Group Discussion as possible further stages. Read each IIM's admission policy on its own website.
Source: CAT 2026 Information Bulletin
Source: CAT 2026 Information Bulletin
Source: CAT 2026 portal
| Phase | What happens | Timing |
|---|---|---|
| CAT 2026 test | Computer-based test, 120 minutes, three sections | 29 Nov 2026 |
| Result | Scorecards on the CAT website | Likely first week of Jan 2027 |
| IIM shortlisting | Each IIM shortlists using CAT score and its own criteria | Not announced |
| Further selection | WAT, PI and/or GD as set by each IIM | Not announced |
| Final offers and joining | Per each IIM's policy; provisional joining needs the final-year certificate where applicable | Not announced |
Source: CAT 2026 Information Bulletin
IIM-wise seat distribution, call-letter details and documents for WAT/PI are published by each IIM for its own batch and were not available as readable text on the pages opened, so they are not included. Use the links above.
Campus-wise and branch-wise cut-off figures are being added. Check iimcat.ac.in for the latest.
IIM-wise and category-wise are published only on each IIM's own admission policy page and were not verified in this update, so no cut-off table is shown. Non-IIM cut-offs and score-versus- data are not officially published; they will be added when available.
22 institutes accept CAT. Names with a college page open it here; the others open a search.
| # | Campus / Institute | Location | College page |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | IIM Ahmedabad | Ahmedabad, Gujarat | View college |
| 2 | IIM Amritsar | Amritsar, Punjab | View college |
| 3 | IIM Bangalore | Bengaluru, Karnataka | View college |
| 4 | IIM Bodh Gaya | Bodh Gaya, Bihar | View college |
| 5 | IIM Calcutta | Kolkata, West Bengal | View college |
| 6 | IIM Guwahati | Guwahati, Assam | View college |
| 7 | IIM Indore | Indore, Madhya Pradesh | View college |
| 8 | IIM Jammu | Jammu, Jammu and Kashmir | View college |
| 9 | IIM Kashipur | Kashipur, Uttarakhand | View college |
| 10 | IIM Kozhikode | Kozhikode, Kerala | View college |
| 11 | IIM Lucknow | Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh | View college |
| 12 | IIM Mumbai | Mumbai, Maharashtra | View college |
| 13 | IIM Nagpur | Nagpur, Maharashtra | View college |
| 14 | IIM Raipur | Raipur, Chhattisgarh | View college |
| 15 | IIM Ranchi | Ranchi, Jharkhand | View college |
| 16 | IIM Rohtak | Rohtak, Haryana | View college |
| 17 | IIM Sambalpur | Sambalpur, Odisha | View college |
| 18 | IIM Shillong | Shillong, Meghalaya | View college |
| 19 | IIM Sirmaur | Sirmaur, Himachal Pradesh | View college |
| 20 | IIM Tiruchirappalli | Tiruchirappalli, Tamil Nadu | View college |
| 21 | IIM Udaipur | Udaipur, Rajasthan | View college |
| 22 | IIM Visakhapatnam | Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh | View college |
Besides the 22 IIMs, the CAT portal lists non-IIM member institutions across several states and union territories whose own admission processes use CAT scores; IIMs have no role in those selections. The portal does not state a total count of non-IIM institutions.
: +3 correct, -1 wrong, 0 unattempted. Non-MCQ (typed answer): +3 correct, no .
120 minutes
3 Aug 2026 (10:00 AM IST) to 22 Sep 2026 (5:00 PM IST); fee payment extended to 24 Sep 2026 (5:00 PM) for those registered by 22 Sep